Six nations ratify the agreement

Six of the 11 Trans-Pacific Partnership countries have ratified the agreement and that means it will go into effect in 60 days.

Australia became the sixth country to ratify and those six will bound by the rules as of Dec 30. They are all the heavyweights in the pact:

  • Japan
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Mexico
  • Singapore

Ratifications outstanding include:

  • Vietnam
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Malaysia
  • Peru

These agreements give companies in those markets first-mover advantages in establishing trading relationships and staking out new markets.

New Zealand will look to expand dairy exports while everyone will attempt to export more beef to Japan as it progressively lowers tariffs over the next 15 years. However Japan may look to ramp up auto-part exports.

Ultimately, this will be great for the best-competing global companies and terrible for the weak ones that were formerly protected — which is what free trade is supposed to be about.


Source link

Articles You May Like

Important times to remember in FX trading
Cara Trading Forex Pemula Dengan Modal Kecil
ECB due to meet tomorrow, expected to expand the size of its PEPP stimulus
How to Day Trade in Forex For Beginners (Easy Step-By-Step Guide)
February 12, 2020Professional Forex Trading Course Lesson 1 By Adam Khoo 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *